Deadline Nears to Apply for Sports Alliance Scholarships

Posted On
Local News

Debi Schultz, 325-676-2556,
Sales Director, Abilene Convention & Visitors Bureau

The Abilene Convention & Visitors Bureau created the Sports Alliance Committee in 2004 to help generate revenue to the local economy through securing athletic events that bring visitors to town. The committee works to increase existing tournaments, create new ones, assemble an enthusiastic volunteer base, and support local student athletes with scholarships. It’s been working! Abilene’s sports market has outpaced other market segments and is poised for continued growth. Abilene is a sports town!

This year, the Abilene Sports Alliance is offering $10,000 total in scholarships to graduating student athletes.  One male and one female athlete from Abilene Christian, Abilene, Cooper, and Wylie high schools will share this award.

Applications may be picked up in the high school counselor’s office, from the athletic coordinator or director at each campus or downloaded from  The completed application must be turned in to the campus Athletic Coordinator/Director by April 5, 2019.

The sports tourism market is a growing segment of the travel industry, and Abilene is perfectly positioned to take advantage of that growth. Sports travelers typically book lodging with an eye toward convenience and affordability, and our city boasts a great variety of high quality, limited service properties. Abilene also has a terrific selection of facilities, parks and venues to serve indoor and outdoor sports. The city’s central location also is an asset.  The upcoming Dodge Jones Youth Sports Complex, set to open in early 2020 just off Interstate 20, adds to that winning lineup. 

One event organized through the Sports Alliance has been a weekend of high school football. The Champions Classic kicks off football season West Texas style, giving fans an exciting weekend that generates enthusiasm locally and throughout Texas and the nation. Work has already begun to bring the event back to Shotwell Stadium for its final run in fall 2019, after a hiatus last year. The success of the annual Champions Classic has allowed the Sports Alliance to distribute $120,000 in scholarships to local graduates during its 13-Year run. We’re proud to support student athletes. Abilene is a city where Champions are made.

Many of these past winners will sound familiar to fans of local high school sports:

Daniel Carrillo

Justin Munns

Tony Richards

Lindsey McGuire

Amy Wilson

Ashley Ann Brown

Andrew Hamaty

Samantha Chevrie

Britton  Barbee

Dakota  Sandifer

Wilson  Rottenberry

Rachel   Foster

James   Gregory

Jennifer Cargile

Cambria Hughes

Doug Coley

Kellie Sitton

Grant Zeller

Talicia Gobert

Ryan Wise

Chad Wheiles

Marlene Wyatt

Megan  Meiser

Mario Sandoval

Jacqlyn Hager

Bradyn  Boone

Kelsi  Wasmer

Alejandro Bonilla

Kelsey Loflin

Alex Crisman

Emilee Davis

Pierce Carpenter

Camron Walding


Alanna Wise

Paden Goettsch

Josh Light

Lauren  Keenum

Madison Sandifer

Austin Gray

Victoria Tindol

Austin Cole

Kasi Conners

Karsten Goodman

Elizabeth Railsback

Grayson Bunnell

Mallory Wilkins

Brantly  Houston

Drew McMillan

Alex Warr

Marissa Churchman

Derek Footer

Bailey Wilson

Colin Harris

Carlee   Riggs

Robert Daniel Austin

Mackenzie Curnutt

Evan Willis

Ryan Conyer

Shelby Thompson

Christian Light

Matt McLeod

Paige Carpenter

Jesse Coates

Elizabeth Van Houten

Conlan  Aguirre

Brittany Walker

Todd      Duquette Jr.

McKenzie Walker

DeAndre Key

Marysa Travieso

Richard Leija

Erika Reese

Devin Lubin

Kali Myers

Denver Gravitt

Abigayle Young

Hunter  Lee

Martha Coates

Nicholas Murray

Conner Nichols

Katlyn McCoy

Leticia Alcantar

Christian Kappel

Kinsey   Christian

Cooper Hedge

Klayton Marr

Jerry Trejo

Justin Anderson

Trevor Anderson

Katherine Ayers

Steven Roberts

Allison Scott

Noah Gonzalez

Alyssa Ruffin

Steven Powell

Daylee White

Josiah Light

Kendall Houston

Daniel   Sherman

Haley     Stuckey

Jayton   Voss

Elisabeth Green

Actavias Lowry

Peyton Cunningham

Brooks  Pepper

Alys Bruton

Sawyer Longley

Britni Starr

Terrell Franklin

Bridget Miller

Anthony Arellano

Julia Lovelace

Gatlin Martin

We look forward to adding this year’s Abilene Sports Alliance scholarship recipients to this list.

Watch for the 2019 Champions Classic Football weekend September 5th & 6th!


Football, Sports, Champions Classic, Scholarships